Long Weekend Update

Published May 27, 2014 by littlessloula

I didn’t get up to anything especially spectacular over the long weekend. I mostly hung out with my boyfriend in a chilled way. I did however attempt to make a couple of the recipes I’ve been pinning on my Low Carb High Fat board on Pinterest. Plus I attended another Aerial lesson. Therefore I thought I’d do a quick picture round up…

Firstly though, I’m not really a precision baker/chef. I am pretty slap-dash, that’ll do! As you potentially could predict, as long as it tastes yum, I don’t really care what it looks like haha. So yes, don’t expect wonders!

To start I tried to make some Nachos, out of Courgettes (Zuchini) from this website

2014-05-25 14.27.32

Starting out it didn’t look massively appetising!

2014-05-25 14.31.27

I also discovered that I didn’t spread the stuff thin enough. I was concerned because after cooking for a while you have to flip it over like a pancake. Be trying to pre-empt a flipping nightmare, I sort of sabotaged them…

2014-05-25 14.54.21

Still they are edible enough

2014-05-25 15.14.19

I dried them out in the oven for a while longer (and burnt them a little) but they are now crispy and I plan to scoff some of them tonight for my dinner. Lessons learnt from this attempt:

  1. Grate the Courgette then add salt to suck the moisture out. Drain thoroughly and proceed.
  2. Thin thin layers are the way to go. In small squares or circles so you don’t have flipping nightmares.

Next I attempted these Raspberry Drop Scones. I left out the Raspberries as trying to avoid fruit because of the sugar. Added a little Strawberry extract instead which potentially is worse but it didn’t alter my blood sugar. Again, they didn’t get off to the most appetising start…

2014-05-25 17.59.21

Naughty courgette nachos photo-bombed them. Still they actually came out the right texture and were almost yummy. Although I seem to always have a weird sheen on anything I try to bake. I think my oven is massively too hot even for a fan over, so I tend to lower it down but still, I don’t think I have the knack with it just yet. Generally instructions say to lower it by 20 Degrees (c) but I think I might try a little lower still and see how I go.

2014-05-25 18.15.51

I also have been reading the following books by an Australian lady, Sarah Wilson, which whilst not really Low Carb, she has a lot of recipes which help me reduce my Sugar intake and still get some sweetness and to be fair, most of the recipes are indeed Low Carb. I tried a Mug Cake recipe from one of these books. I think I added too much liquid and also had it in a too big mug. It pretty much came out looking like a ugly gloop of brown stuff. Still it tasted lush and I scoffed it all.

2014-05-25 15.18.39

Finally I ended my weekend with an Aerial Workshop. There are no photo’s of Silks as I have yet to really master any of the moves. Silks is really really tough! Still there were only 4 people in the Silks class and 2 in the Hoop so I was exhausted by the end of it as we didn’t have to share equipment like we usually do.

IMG-20140526-WA0000

It was an awesome lesson. I still can’t get up on the damn hoop unaided. I think I need to stop giving myself a deadline about this one and just accept that I am building muscles and it will happen when my body is ready. I did try to dangle by my knees a couple of times though (something I don’t do that much as I can’t get on the thing in the normal pull-your-legs-up-and-over-then-pull-your-body-up manner) and ouch! Bruises everywhere but especially behind my knees and in the crook of my elbow where our instructor had us do Elbow hangs (exactly what they sound like). My elbows are similarly unimpressed.

IMG-20140526-WA0001

I got home afterwards though and my lovely boyfriend had snuck into mine whilst I was out and welcomed me home with a cuddle and a lovely hot bath run for me. Bliss!

Leave a Reply

Running With A Purpose

12 Months, 12 Races

Chicken Daily

just a chick in her daily life

Hopefully Bikiniskinni

About my journey to becoming, hopefully, bikini skinny.

Losing Weight with a little help from my friends....

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Lazy Girl Gets Fit

Getting healthier, one step at a time

ReImaging Me

My journey to ketogenic living

Mama Ames Gets Healthy!

Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

thatfitginger

The Fit Girl Rules-No BS Here

I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey.

Laura's Losing It...

losing insecurities and weight without losing my mind...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

ariesfitchic

Managing fitness & diet on a full time schedule

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Girl in the Gym Jungle

From zumba to burpees, pink dumbbells to kettlebells and ankle weights to deadlifts. I'm here to learn, grow and inspire.

Get Fit Wendy!

Achieving my goals one step at a time

Fit, Fat, & All That

A curvy girl's journey to becoming healthy & fit.

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

Fit Penguin Blog

In between "I want it" and "I got it"....

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

